The Deep Web resources and site descriptions featured on this page were adapted from the book Going Beyond Google AGAIN, by Jane Devine & Francine Egger-Sider.
- BizNar: Deep Web Business Search
BizNar scans all kinds of resources, including publications such as Advertising Age, government resources such as USA.gov and the Bureau of Labor Statistics, news sources like Business Week and the Wall Street Journal, and social networks like LinkedIn and Wordpress.
The US federal government, which collects all kinds of data, is a good source for student reports or business or general information purposes. They are often invisible because they are buried deep in massive websites and because the government is the unique source for important research and information.
- Internet Archive
Home to the Wayback Machine, the Internet Archive is a large repository dedicated to preserving the digital world and offering access to its past through a publicly accessible library.
- Pipl: People Search
People Search identifies itself as the most comprehensive people search on the web and claims that its success is due to the fact that it taps Deep Web resources.
- MedNar: Deep Web Medical Search
MedNar's free search engine utilizes a federated search for medical resources. Results include an article link and source information. A topic breakdown for the search shows the number of articles available for each related topic.
- Topsy: Real-Time Search for the Social Web
Topsy can be searched by links, tweets, photos, videos, experts, and what it calls "trending." An "expert" search allows users to look for a subject and get results for people who have been posting on that topic, along with analytics on how often the search terms appear in an individual's postings.
- Voice of the Shuttle(VoS): Website for Humanities Search
Voice of the Shuttle(VoS) is a dynamic database of online resources on literature, the humanities, and cultural studies. It includes both primary and secondary resources and links to course materials, author websites, literature in English and other languages, and eBooks.
- Yummly: Every Recipe in the World
Yummly was launched in 2010 by foodies on a mission to invent the ultimate kitchen tool. Whether it’s finding a recipe or going to the store, Yummly wants to make it easier for foodies to do what they love – cook, eat, and share!
What is the Deep Web?
No matter how good you are at using web search engines (e.g., Google, Bing, Yahoo, etc.), there are valuable resources on the web that commercial search engines will not find for you. You can get to most of them if you know the URL, but a general search engine search will probably not find them for you.
These resources, often referred to as the Deep Web, the Hidden Web, or the Invisible Web, contain a variety of content, including databases of articles, data, statistics, and government documents. The term invisible here refers to “invisible to search engines.” There is nothing mysterious or mystical involved.
~From The Extreme Searchers Internet Handbook: A Guide for the Serious Searcher
- WorldWideScience.org: The Global Science Gateway
This database is the product of an alliance among international scientific institutions and is operated by the US Department of Energy. The materials offered include conference papers, articles, and other documents not readily found on the surface web.
- New York Public Library Digital Gallery
This collection includes more than 700,000 digitized images from the New York Public Library, including historical documents, photographs, art pieces, and maps.
- DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
This resource offers free online access to full-text articles from online scholarly publications covering all subjects. DOAJ is maintained by Lund University in Sweden and is financed by sponsors and members.
- BASE--Bielefeld Academic Search Engine
BASE, sponsored by the Bielfeld University Library in Germany, covers material not readily found by commercial search engines including more than 30 million documents in several languages.
Sponsored by the American Institute of Physics, this database offers all things physics. Most of the items are open access, but anyone can purchase articles from the subscription journals.